Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

Okay, so we got action and awareness. What now?

Then it’s pretty much like it says in The Secret and every book and article out there about the law of attraction.

It’s affirmations and visualization time!

But wait, didn’t I say those didn’t work?

Don’t twist my words, imaginary-skeptic-I-invented-in-my-head. Affirmations and visualizations are useful tools in creating faith, which is what I want to talk about today.

Faith…is a tricky word and a tricky subject.

Religion seems to have gotten a copyright on the term. Most likely, you hear the word faith and you think of religion. You think of God. And if you’re a skeptic or a nonchristian like me, you might think “bullshit.”

When I was young, I hated the idea of faith because to me it sounded like blindly following something without asking important questions or simply not expecting the question to be answered and be okay with that.

I was not okay with that.

I used to akin faith with stupidity and ignorance and a way religion manipulates people to stick with them even when they made no sense and provided no real benefit for the believer.

What’s sad is that definition is still kinda true, even though there are other, better definitions for the word.

But since there’s so much baggage, it’ll probably be easier to explain my definition of faith by changing the word entirely.

When I think of or use the word Faith, I really mean Confidence.

Having faith is the same as having confidence that whatever it is you want to happen, will happen as long as you take action.

This is key in creating the life you want and where affirmations and visualization come in.

Affirmations, if you didn’t know, are basically short, positive statements of something you want as if you already have it.

“I am a success.”

“I am wealthy.”

And so forth. Visualizations are basically mentally creating a picture or movie of what that would look like if it were true.

You would daydream, see how life would be like if you were wealthy, or were in a great romantic relationship, etc.

Now, of course we’ve all done this. I was an expert daydreamer growing up because I hated my life. I used my imagination as a means of escape. So why didn’t I have a better life if I was visualizing so much?

Well for one, not all that I imagined were puppies and kittens and flowers and hearts.

Second, I knew it was all in my head. It was imaginary. I had no confidence that any of this was going to happen. It was just a fantasy.

The trick is to use affirmations and visualizations to convince yourself that “Yes, this is not only possible, but it’s waiting for me. It’s an inevitability.”

After a while, you’re suddenly gifted with this superhuman level of confidence (faith) that all you need to do is make a plan and take action — any action — and the path will appear and everything will work out.

This is how faith works.

Your brain will not see any other option and if you’re confident enough (have enough faith), you won’t stop if there is a setback or an obstacle in the way. Your brain will just look for a way over the roadblock or search for a new path…as long as you keep faith that you are who you say you are in your affirmations and beliefs.

But the most beautiful part of faith is that it takes fear away. And fear is the #1 reason people don’t achieve their dreams. They don’t even go for it. I know I didn’t.

Fear is the opposite of Faith. Fear holds you back, faith propels you forward.

Yet writing affirmations isn’t enough if you don’t believe it. Most likely you have negative thoughts that pop up when you write an affirmation that neutralizes the effect of the positive statement.

Best course of action to do when this happens is, not resist and just plow on ahead, but actually write out the negative thought. Make it conscious. Get awareness.

A negative thought is really just a negative affirmation. The trick is to change the thought to something more resourceful and affirmations are a tool to do that.

What I’m explaining here — faith and confidence — is something we do ALL THE TIME.

This is how we live our lives.

The only real difference between someone who’s happy and someone who is unhappy is where their confidence lies.

A happy person is someone who has confidence that they are a resourceful, wonderful person and are or will be fulfilled in every aspect of their life or something of the like.

An unhappy person is someone who has confidence that they are a horrible person or everyone around them are horrible and their lives are horrible and nothing will ever go right or something of the like.

Conscious living is about becoming aware of this, stop living on autopilot, and take the wheel.

Another thing to remember is that…while it’s true that the environment you live in will affect you, it’s up to you in what way it will affect you.

I know a good argument someone can make about all this is: “How can I believe I’m wealthy when there is literally nothing in my bank account? You can see the ZERO with your physical eyes. How can you ignore that plain obvious fact?”

My only counter argument  would be…you don’t ignore it, but you don’t let it make you feel less wealthy.

I have an affirmation. “I am living a life of luxury.”

I literally have nothing in my bank account.

And yet, I actually feel like I am living a life of luxury.

Well, for one, I actually am.

I live in a first world country. I have a pack of 24 bottles of water in my fridge (which only cost me $3). My thirst is quenched in minutes. I have beautiful cut flowers sitting on my table ($5) . I live on a beautiful tropical island (for all its flaws, Puerto Rico is gorgeous). What is the difference between what I’m experiencing right now than what I would experience if I had a million dollars and was staying at a 4-star hotel?

Not much.

When compared to people living in Africa or on the streets, I have it MADE.

I feel more wealthy now than I did when I ACTUALLY HAD MONEY.

But the best part isn’t even the physical objects I possess, but rather my potential.

I am confident I have the skills needed to create actual monetary wealth and if I don’t, I am confident have the intelligence and resources to get the skills needed. If I don’t have money for college, I’ll learn online for free. Don’t have internet? I’ll walk to the library. Don’t have a library? I’ll just figure it out on my own and learn as I do it.

(Luckily, my dream isn’t to become a doctor or a lawyer, but if it was, my approach would be different and I’d still probably be able to do it).

As long as I keep moving forward, take action and remain confident, I’m pretty sure it’ll work out. There’s no reason it shouldn’t.

If I can do this, if I can get this level of confidence, anyone can…which is the point of these posts.

Anyone can do what I am writing here.

I am living proof.

(And for the record, I do believe in God, but have a different definition than what is commonly known. But I also believe that having faith in a higher power is beneficial as long as you realize that higher power is working with and through you and not separately).

