Tags

, , , ,

 

A new year.  A new beginning.

Allow me my dramatics. I love them.

This has long since been coming. It was delayed since it took some time before I really understood what I wanted to change about my blog. I knew I wanted it to be better. I wanted to give my readers higher quality content. But how? What to write about?

Interesting, despite that being my main desire, I didn’t focus at all on writing. I already in my head knew what to do in regards to that. Just write more consciously. But my brain got in my way.

Instead, I found myself focusing more on the superficial aspect of the blog. The way it looks. How do I make it look perfect and professional without paying too much or anything at all? This stumped me. And so the hiatus lengthened.

Finally, I decided that the New Year was the deadline. I will write again, post again, ready or not, in the beginning of January.

So here I am.

Luckily, right after Christmas, I’ve begun a remarkable inner transformation.

Um…without getting too weird and abstract, let me just say I stopped thinking so much.

One of the things that occurred to me is that the look of the blog doesn’t really matter at all. True, it helps if the site didn’t make people cringe and look away the moment it opens, but once it looks appealing enough for the reader to put their attention on the words, that’s all that matters.

After that, it’s all about the quality writing, the story.

I believe this is true about publication as well as Donald Maass would teach, but that’s for another post.

Regardless of whether it’s fiction or nonfiction, everything I write here is a story. For instance, this post is the story of my return to blogging.

My new and improved themes of this blog are:

 

My Love for Stories

 

My Adventures in Writing, Drawing, Spirituality and Productivity

 

The Things I have Learned

 

(Notice from today onward, I will only place posts in these three categories and perhaps clean out the other categories one of these days.)

 

Hopefully by sharing stories regarding these themes, I will offer some sort of benefit for others and for myself.

I call these “new and improved” themes, but honestly I don’t think I had any theme before and that is why I felt so unsatisfied. I felt like I was all over the place and even if there was a connection, a focus between them all, I didn’t see it or wasn’t aware of it.

Now I am.

I hope the transformation of myself and this blog will prove enlightening or at least entertaining.

I will follow the old schedule of 3 posts a day unless something happens that prevents me to do so.

But I have a feeling I won’t be having that problem of not posting consistency anymore.

I’m excitedly looking forward to this New Year.

Have you also recently started or restarted a project, habit or something else for this year?

Let me know in the comments. I’d love to hear about it.

