I Love Humans

I find mankind to be fascinating.

Now true, I haven’t studied sociology or psychology or looked into this any deeper than casual observations, so I’m probably about to make a million misconceptions.  So, this is just a thought that popped into my head as I went about my day.

I find it amazing the things humans have done, have created.  From cars to spaceships. From indoor plumbing to electricity to the internet. I always found that humans were freaking geniuses and have the potential to go even further. Better.

Let’s not get into if we’re getting better  morally. I’ve been more in my share of “debate” regarding that one.

But I suppose that does touch on the idea I found especially interesting.

Isn’t it strange that we often call humans flawed and imperfect?

Of course, that seems like such a fact. But I state this:

In comparison to what?

I love how humans can look at what we do and deem ourselves inferior or superior to nature, to each other, and to life-forms and ideas that we’ve conceived ourselves (God, demigods, Angels, aliens, robots with superior A.I., computers, elves, dragons, and vampires and other immortal/ancient creatures, etc.)

We have our idea of what is perfect or is superior and humans always fall below that.

Even more interesting is that in most fiction, even if we’ve convinced ourselves of our flawed nature, in most stories, humans always rise up against the more intelligent, more peaceful, or more powerful nonhuman.  We love the underdog because we identify with him.

In Lord of the Rings, the Elves leave and Middle Earth enters the Age of Man.

In Greek mythology, I think there’re a few stories where humans (or at least half humans) win against the Gods.

In the movies iRobot, Terminator and The Matrix, the humans beat the more powerful/intelligent super computers (sorry for the shocking spoilers).

Hans Solo was so much better than Luke, despite all of Luke’s Jedi powers!

Ahem. You get the idea.

 

I find it fascinating because we’re comparing ourselves to ideas that don’t exist or at least, there’s no hard proof they exist. We’re comparing ourselves to an idea of perfection and superiority that we’ve invented and sort of taken a life on its own.

It’s a little schizophrenic.

Instead of accepting our flawed nature or make excuses for it…maybe we can come to a different conclusion that it’s not flawed or imperfect.

Maybe mankind is simply growing. You wouldn’t call a child before it learned to walk, imperfect or flawed. She’s learning.

I don’t know.

But I do know that fiction is a great way to showcase the great aspects of mankind that may have been forgotten. To remind the world that humans are still amazing and are capable or amazing things.

Of course, you can also just take a look around and see it in everyday life.

Basically what I’m trying to say is…

I love humans.

We’re so cool.

 

2 thoughts on “I Love Humans

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

