Tags

, , , , ,

Like most writers, I love notebooks. I wrote the original draft of this post in a thin b&w composition notebook I bought at Walmart for .50 cents. I love the cheap thin pages; how they feel and crinkle under my fingers. I also love how it falls open flat. Usually notebooks of this type fail at this and so I usually stick to ring bound books.  But this one works just as well.

For .50 cents each, I wanted to stock up and buy like twenty.

Before this wonderful new find, I did most of my longhand writing on a yellow letter-size writing pad. I was inspired by Neal Donald Walsh, who claims to have communicated with God and wrote the original draft of this conversation on yellow legal pads, which later became the book trilogy Conversations with God (my bible).

I bought yellow letter-size (cause they were cheaper than legal) pads in packs of three or six for like a buck per pad.

I’ve learned that the cheaper the writing pad or notebook, the more likely I’d use it consistently.  I have several more expensive notebooks that I’ve rarely used and are still more than halfway full of blank pages. I suppose there’s a psychological reason to it, but I don’t know.

I won’t complain. I’ll just stick to my cheap, guilt-free notebooks.

Me and my .50 cent notebook are getting along very well so far and I think for the first time I can actually carry around a notebook I actually will write in everyday when inspiration strikes while I’m on the road. It’s classic writing advice that is hard to follow. At least for me it is. I either forget I have the damn thing with me or when I sit down to write something, my mind goes blank.

But not with this notebook. With this one, it’s a pleasure to even write nonsense for pages on end.

I should also mention the same applies to artists. I have a small hardcover sketchbook for daily sketches that I also carry with me everywhere, but it’s rarely opened. Mostly because I just plain suck. I guess that’s where a cheap notebook can help. If I don’t feel like I need to draw a masterpiece on cheap paper, I’m more open to draw crap.

Practice is practice, ain’t it?

Perhaps I’ll look for a cheap blank notebook for my doodling.

Maybe Walmart has some for .50 cents.

Anyways, what kind of notebooks do you like to use for writing/drawing/brainstorming/listing?

