A Request

As you may have noticed, my posts have come to a grinding halt.

It’s likely the predictable outcome of impatient excitement of creating something for someone to love. Or find the slightest bit of interest.  Without a plan, however,   a nagging in the back of my mind has made me freeze up at the keyboard.

I haven’t quite figured out who my audience is just yet. Who are you people?! Why do you come here?! Do you like coming here?

I’m sure there are ten thousand blog posts and articles on the Internet about this very subject of voice, niche and readership. I’ve read about a third of them. But in the end…I’m still puzzled on what exactly to write here.

Up until now I was just writing whatever came to mind and because I’m a writer and love stories, I focused on those themes. But that nagging was telling me this was a mistake.

So let’s start over. I want ask any and all who read this for a small favor.

I need feedback.

I am a SF/F (and all its subgenres) writer. I love strong female characters, action sequences, battles, scenes where horrible things happen to good people, self-sacrifice, atonement, friendship, family issues, happy or bittersweet endings, epic cinematic scenes, complex plot twists, and fresh takes on favorite tropes.

If these are things you also love and enjoy reading, then good.

Stick around.

I have some questions for you.

What do you want from me?!  *throws self onto floor*

Ahem. But seriously. What would you like from me?

  • Personal wisdom gained from my transformation from a friendless, introverted teenager with nonexistent self-esteem to the person I am today (significantly more confident and definitely a lot happier).
  •  My stories, characters, worlds, process, etc.
  • My views on my latest story addictions (Night Angel Trilogy, Supernatural, Adventure Time, Futurama, Manga, Inception, etc).
  •  On Writing, Creativity and Productivity.
  •  My views on the world, humanity and my unconventional brand of spirituality.
  • All of the above.

I can provide any of these things. I would love to write any of these, but this isn’t about me…well, not ONLY about me. It’s about what I can provide you, the reader.

So…

What would you like from me?

12 thoughts on “A Request

Add yours

  1. I’m going to go the “non-answer” route and say “All of the above,” by which I really mean “Whatever you want.” It seems to me that the best way to find one’s niche is to do whatever feels natural, because that is sort of the definition of a niche, right? And personally, I’d rather read something the writer wanted to write than something the writer thinks she should write but doesn’t really want to write.

    Then again, I’m way newer to this blogging/tweeting/networking thing than you are, so I could be wrong. But I don’t think so. Passion trumps obligation every time.

    1. Very true.

      Well it does seem that is the consensus I’m getting. I suppose you can’t have certainty that what you write will be the right thing to write untill after it’s written and gets out there. I did give it a try though.

  2. Amber,

    I agree with Lura. Just write what you want to write about; that way it will come naturally for you. If you try and please people, it will feel forced and you won’t enjoy it.

    Personally, I really enjoy reading your blog. I totally agreed with your Princess and the Frog review, but I didn’t comment since I felt uncomfortable addressing such a sensitive racial topic.

    By the way, I love your stories. Your 3-sentence story at Terribleminds is so powerful. It pierced me to the bone.

    I would love to read about your transformation and your spirituality. I love learning about the writers that I follow.

    Take Wendig’s blog (or my amateurish one) as an example. He/I write about all sorts of stuff. Check out other blogs and see what they do. Personally, I don’t like sticking to a weekly pattern of stuff (Monday reviews, Wednesday contests, etc.); I write what I want, and my literary voice and target audience become clear as a result.

    You’re loved! (Sorry if that sounds too cheesy.)

    1. Thank you! (if that’s cheesy, I love cheesy lol).

      I’m starting to realize this post was sort of me asking for permission, which…I think isn’t exactly something I need to do. But you said exactly the things I needed to hear. Thanks!

      And after reading these comments, I’ve gotten all sorts of ideas I want to implement. I also want a weekly pattern of stuff, I just couldn’t decide on what.

      So expect more from me. Thanks 🙂

  3. “Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”
    -Howard Thurman

    Write what you love and the readers will follow. That’s my vote, anyway. 🙂

  4. The first 5.

    In all seriousness, I read each of those thinking “yep, those are good. That’d be worth reading. Amber used to be an introvert!? And a teenager?!? There was a small mental cheer when NA got a mention (for me, a mention of NA always gets a mental cheer).

    On to some of the other questions and more detailed feedback, I am here because you told me about your blog and I was interested in seeing what you were doing. I enjoyed chatting with you over at the Brent Weeks forum and so I came here. And I like coming here, except for the frustrating wait for new posts. Which I guess means I enjoy the new posts.

    Even though I’m not a fan of anime (only one I ever liked was pokemon), I enjoyed your post on anime. So I guess, unhelpful as this advice is, write whatever you want, and I’ll read it. If I like it, and I expect I will based on everything else I know of you and what I’ve read so far, I’ll stick around. If I don’t, I’ll probably stick around anyway. This blog is for you more than anyone else. If you’re happy to ignore that nagging and write fantasy/sf, do so. Maybe it’ll go away after a while, maybe it won’t. If you feel uncomfortable with that, give it a break and try writing something else. Either you’ll find something you’re more comfortable with, the nagging will go away and you’ll go back to fantasy/sf, you’ll find out that fantasy/sf really is what you want to write after all, or you won’t find anything that works for you and you’ll be utterly miserable – but no worse off than if you’d kept writing something you didn’t want to anyway.

    So, that was a bit long, but I think I’m done now.

    1. Sorry my posts are sporadic. This is sort of me learning as I go. Hopefully, you won’t be frustrated much longer due to my lack of posts since you’ve totally inspired me for at least five different ones.

      Thanks for your comment. I really appreciate the time you took to write it 🙂

  5. Oh, almost forgot…I’ve never been to Puerto Rico, so if you wanted to talk a little about Puerto Rican life, that would be cool for me. Like, are most people bilingual (and does that affect how you think about writing)? What kind of stuff do Puerto Ricans do for fun that we miss out on here in the states? Really anything, I’m just curious in general. If you feel like it!

    1. Hmmmm….

      Maybe. Just, maybe.

      See the thing is… sometimes, my view on Puerto Rico is very biased and a bit negative. I haven’t exactly had the time of my life over here. It would be more about MY life here in Puerto Rico, rather than a Puerto Rican’s life since I’m totally an outcast culturally here.

      But still, I might give a rant or two why that is and highlight the best of Puerto Rico with photos (I love the Puerto Rican sky, you have no idea).

      Yes, I feel an idea a-brewing…

      Thanks!

  6. Followed you over here from Chuck Wendig’s blog, and have been keeping up with your posts since. I think you’re doing a fine job. Just keep doing what you’re doing.

    As a fellow writer and artist I would love to read anything you have to say about your processes there as well 🙂

  7. “It would be more about MY life here in Puerto Rico, rather than a Puerto Rican’s life since I’m totally an outcast culturally here.”

    And that would be great too. Nothing says your impressions have to be positive or generic!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

