Tags

,

What did I write today? 520 words of my NaNoWriMo novel.

The return of the word count! Let’s see if I don’t embarrass myself this time.

I took a good hard look at my writing goals and I realized it doesn’t really matter what I produce at the end of the day as long as I produce something.

This isn’t new. I’ve been told this for years and probably those who come across my blog have been told this too before reading it here. But you know, I hear somewhere that repetition is the key to mastery.

I may have a lofty goal. But the goal isn’t worth it if it keeps me from writing anything. Habits are more important. Even if I write 5 words a day, if I consistently write those word as at the same time every day, I program my brain into thinking, this is the time I write. And I will write.

Even if I miss my own deadlines or am falling faaar behind, if I can just be consistent, it can’t get any worse.

Maybe instead of playing catch up, I should just do my minimum the next day and then when I have a weekend, catch up then. That way I keep my momentum and don’t overwhelm myself.

But where and when does quality enter the mix? When is quality becomes more important than quantity?

I’m honestly not sure. Any ideas?

This post is brought to you by the letter for Awareness.

I am aware that I know less than I thought I knew.

